4 Apr 2006


The Difference Between Vegetarian & Vegan

The word 'vegetarian' is a generic blanket term used to describe anybody who does not eat meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This encompasses vegans and also the various vegetarian sub-groups. Vegetarians are generally those people who have chosen a diet with far less restrictions than those chosen by a vegan. The differences between the various vegetarian sub-groups may appear to be small, but they are very important to the members who belong to each groups. In many cases the distinctions are important dietary or ethical decisions taken by the individual.

Here are the various vegetarian sub-groups:

Semi-vegetarians are people who have chosen to live a lifestyle which is not strictly vegetarian. A semi-vegetarian may be a person who only eats meat occasionally, or perhaps doesn�t eat meat, but eats poultry and fish.

Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not eat meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do eat eggs and milk. This is by far the largest group of vegetarians.

Ovo-vegetarians are people who would be classed as vegans if they did not eat eggs.

Lacto-vegetarians are people who would be classed as vegans if they did not consume milk.

This is by far the strictest vegetarian sub-group or category.
A vegan is a person who has chosen not to consume any animal products or byproducts. Some will even so far as not consuming honey and yeast, and others will not wear any clothing made from animal products.

No comments: